If you want to find out more about the Genetics Society, or would like to help organise a local event, please contact your institute ambassador in the first instance.

The tasks of the Genetics Society Ambassador are not onerous and include:

Recruiting new members by:

  • targeting new student intakes
  • alerting your department/institution/university to deadlines for grants available to researchers

Promoting the society by:

  • publicising Genetics Society meetings and other events (e.g. putting up posters or by word of mouth)
  • manning stands at relevant local events
  • Attending ad hoc national “get togethers” to meet the committee and network with other local ambassadors (travel expenses paid)

Providing feedback from the membership about Genetics Society activities

Helping organise local events such as socials etc

Assisting the Membership Secretary in keeping an accurate log of those members that have moved on and to where

As an ambassador you will receive lots of support from the Genetics Society, including supplies of promotional materials and loan of pop-up banners.

If you would like to become a Genetics Society Ambassador please contact the Genetics Society.

Current Ambassadors:

LocationLocal AmbassadorInstitution
AberdeenProfessor Anne DonaldsonUniversity of Aberdeen
AberystwythDr Dylan Wyn Phillips
Aberystwyth University
BangorDr Alexander Papadopoulos
Bangor University
BathDr Araxi UrrutiaUniversity of Bath
BelfastDr Declan McKennaUniversity of Ulster
BirminghamDr Lindsey ComptonUniversity of Birmingham
BournemouthDr Anna MantzouratouBournemouth University
BrightonDr Alessandro BianchiUniversity of Sussex
BristolProfessor Patricia KuwabaraUniversity of Bristol (SOMs)
CambridgeDr Howard BaylisZoology Department, University of Cambridge
CambridgeHansong MaGenetics Department, University of Cambridge
CambridgeDr Bénédicte Sanson Phys, Dev and Neuro Department, Cambridge University
CambridgeIan Henderson Plant Sci Department, University of Cambridge
CanterburyDr Simon C HarveyCanterbury Christ Church University
CardiffDr Timothy BowenUniversity of Wales College of Medicine
CardiffDr William DaviesCardiff University
CoventryDr Jose Gutierrez-MarcosUniversity of Warwick
DublinProfessor Oliver BlacqueUniversity College Dublin
DublinDr Alastair FlemingTrinity College Dublin
DundeeDr Isabelle ColasJames Hutton Institute
DurhamDr David DoupéDurham University
EdinburghDr Ian JacksonMRC Human Genetics Unit
EdinburghDr Douglas VernimmenThe Roslin Institute
EdinburghDr Jarrod HadfieldInstitute of Evolutionary Biology
EdinburghProfessor Eileen WallSRUC
EssexDr Antonio MarcoUniversity of Essex
ExeterDr Sarah FlanaganUniversity of Exeter
ExeterDr Rupa KumarUniversity of Exeter
ExeterDr Ben LongdonUniversity of Exeter
GlasgowDr Iain JohnstoneUniversity of Glasgow
GlasgowDr Kevin O’DellUniversity of Glasgow
GuildfordVACANTUniversity of Surrey
HarpendenDr. Adriana Maria Torres-BallesterosRothamsted Research
HarwellDr Akanksha Bafna MRC Harwell
HatfieldDr Maria BraoudakiUniversity of Hertfordshire
HinxtonVACANTWellcome Trust Sanger Institute
HuddersfieldDr Martin CarrUniversity of Huddersfield
HullDr David LuntUniversity of Hull
KentDr Mark N WassUniversity of Kent
LancashireDr Paul Ashton Edge Hill University
LeedsDr Andrew PeelUniversity of Leeds, School of Biology
LeicesterDr Ed HolloxUniversity of Leicester
LiverpoolDr Tony PlaggeUniversity of Liverpool
LiverpoolDr Peter WalleyUniversity of Liverpool
LiverpoolDr Craig WildingLiverpool John Moores
LondonDr Claire RussellRoyal Veterinary College
LondonDr Francesca MackenzieKingston University
LondonProfessor Simon HughesKing’s College London
LondonProfessor Harald SchneiderThe Natural History Museum
LondonProfessor Andrew Pomiankowski UCL Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment
LondonProfessor E M C FisherUCL Institute of Neurology
LondonRosa CorreraUCL Institute of Ophthalmology
LondonProfessor Richard A NicholsQueen Mary and Westfield College
LondonDr Emanuela VolpiUniversity of Westminster
LondonDr Yalda JamshidiSt George’s University of London
LondonDr Michalis BarkoulasImperial College (South Kensington)
LondonDr Hannah MaudeImperial College (White City)
LondonDr James TurnerFrancis Crick Institute
LondonDr Alexander PapadopulosRoyal Botanic Gardens, Kew
ManchesterDr Catherine WaltonUniversity of Manchester
ManchesterDr Reinmar HagerUniversity of Manchester
Newcastle upon TyneDr Maxim KapralovUniversity of Newcastle (Biol Sci)
NorwichProfessor Enrico CoenJohn Innes Centre
NorwichDr Tracey ChapmanUniversity of East Anglia
NottinghamDr Richard EmesUniversity of Nottingham (Sutton Bonnington Campus)
NottinghamProfessor John BrookfieldUniversity of Nottingham (University Park Campus)
NottinghamDr Helen Miranda KnightUniversity of Nottingham (Queen’s Medical Centre)
OxfordProfessor Stephen F GoodwinUniversity of Oxford (Centre for Neural Circuits & Behaviour)
OxfordProfessor Andrew O M WilkieUniversity of Oxford (John Radcliffe Hosp)
OxfordProfessor Liam DolanUniversity of Oxford (Plant Sciences)
OxfordDr Niloufer IraniUniversity of Oxford (Plant Sciences)
OxfordDr S. E. KearseyUniversity of Oxford (Zoology)
OxfordProfessor Jonathan HodgkinUniversity of Oxford
OxfordDr Ravinder Kanda Oxford Brookes University
OxfordDr Paul PotterOxford Brookes University
PlymouthDr Mairi KnightUniversity of Plymouth
ReadingDr Louise JohnsonUniversity of Reading
SalfordProfessor Geoff HideUniversity of Salford
SheffieldDr Jon SlateUniversity of Sheffield
SouthamptonDr Mark A. ChapmanUniversity of Southampton
St AndrewsProfessor Mike RitchieUniversity of St Andrews
StirlingHoang Anh NguyenUniversity of Stirling
StirlingDr Mario Vallejo-MarinUniversity of Stirling
Stoke-on-TrentDr Gavin McStayStaffordshire University
SunderlandDr Timothy BarrowUniversity of Sunderland
SwanseaDr Claire MorganSwansea University
SwanseaDr Laura ThomasSwansea University Medical School
YorkDr Sean T SweeneyUniversity of York