Balfour Lecture

The Balfour Lecture, named after the Genetics Society’s first President, is an award to mark the contributions to genetics of an outstanding young investigator. The Balfour Lecturer is elected by the Society’s Committee on the basis of nominations made by any individual member of the Society.  The only conditions are that the recipient of the award must normally have less than 10 years’ postdoctoral research experience at the time of nomination, and that any nomination must be made with the consent of the nominee.  Exceptions to the 10 year limit will be made if the nominee has taken a career break for child or other caring responsibilities.  Those making nominations must be members of the Genetics Society, but there is no requirement for the nominee to be a member, nor is there any restriction on nationality or residence.

Nominations are now being invited for the 2024 Balfour Lecturer; the Lecture is normally delivered at one of the Society’s annual meetings. Note that there is no restriction on the subject matter of the Balfour Lecture.  To make a nomination, please confirm that your candidate is willing to be nominated, then forward a two-page CV of the candidate, together with a list of their ten most important publications, plus a one-page letter of recommendation outlining why you feel their contributions to the field have been outstanding.  These documents must be submitted electronically to by Friday June 30th 2023.

Please note, the Genetics Society does not accept self-nominations.

Balfour Lecturers

2024    Dr Pontus Skoglund
2023    Dr Lucy van Dorp
2022    Dr Sam Behjati
2021    Dr Alison Wright
2020    Dr Sarah Flanagan
2019    Dr Susan Johnston
2018    Dr Ludmil Alexandrov
2017    Dr Andrew Wood
2016    Dr Felicity Jones
2015    Dr Ben Lehner
2014   Dr Elizabeth Murchison
2013   Dr S Myers
2012   Dr Ö Carlborg
2011   Dr M Madan Babu
2010   Dr Andrew P Jackson
2009   Dr M Hurles
2008   Dr D Presgraves
2007   Dr M Tsiantis
2006   Dr O Voinnet
2005   Dr M de Bono
2004   Dr G A T McVean
2003   Dr F Uhlmann
2002   Dr A Eyre-Walker
2001   Dr SJ Leevers
2000   Dr D Bradley
1999   Dr D Monckton
1998   Dr C Stirling
1997   Dr WA Bickmore
1996   Dr RC Allshire
1995   Dr RD St Johnston
1994   Dr JA Todd
1993   Dr NH Barton
1992   Dr WRA Brown
1991   Dr PW Ingham
1990   Dr P Eggleston
1989   Dr IJ Jackson
1988   Dr ES Coen