Functional Regulatory Genomics & Disease

Photograph of fireworks over cityscape with full moon in sky
Hybrid meeting 11 April, 2022 - 13 April, 2022

Edinburgh, exact details TBC


Deadline: 11/03/2022
Click here to register

General Information

Complex heritable conditions such as obesity, diabetes, alcohol abuse, schizophrenia and depression affect a significant proportion of the UK population.

It has become clear over the past five years that the genetic basis of these diseases does not primarily affect regions of the human genome that code for proteins but may affect the much larger part of the genome, called the regulatory genome, that controls where, when and by how much the expression of genes are turned on and off.

However, compared to protein coding sequences, which make up only 1.5% of the human genome, the regulatory genome remains poorly understood.

Thus, the focus of this conference will be to invite international leaders in the interdisciplinary study of the genetics of disease, the exploration of the regulatory genome and the in-depth biology of its activity and function, to interact and discuss their work.

By doing so it is hoped that we can reach a consensus on how we might coordinate international interdisciplinary efforts to understand the role of the regulatory genome in health and disease.

Meeting sessions

The meeting will have four themed open sessions over the three days, each featuring invited speakers together with contributed talks and posters selected from submitted abstracts.

Please check back for more details as they are released.

Join the Genetics Society to take advantage of the membership registration fees:

  • Full Conference – Genetics Society Full Member: £130
  • Full Conference – Genetics Society Postgraduate/Undergraduate Member: £80
  • Full Conference – Non-Member: £230
  • Conference dinner: £45

If you are interested in sponsoring any sections of the meeting or social activities, please contact the Genetics Society for more information.

Carer’s Award

In recognition of carer’s responsibilities, an award of (up to) £60/day will be made available to enable members and selected speakers to attend Genetics Society scientific meetings and events. Awardees can spend this money as they think will best support their attendance. Applications can be made through the mySociety portal.

Junior Scientist Conference Grant

Genetics Society members who are undergraduates, postgraduates or postdoctoral scientists within six years of their PhD viva may apply for grants of up to £150 to support attendance at this meeting. These grants may be used to cover travel and essential overnight accommodation; the most economic form of travel should be used. Applications should be made through the mySociety portal.

More information to follow.

Meeting organisers:

  • Professor Stefan Hoppler, Institute of Medical Sciences, University of Aberdeen
  • Dr Alasdair Mackenzie, Institute of Medical Sciences, University of Aberdeen
  • Dr Kay Boulton, Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Robert Hill, MRC Human Genetics Unit and MRC Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Laura Lettice, MRC Human Genetics Unit, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr William Davies, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cardiff
  • Dr Michelle Holland, Department of Medical & Molecular Genetics, King’s College London


  • Dr Alasdair MacKenzie, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Andrew McIntosh, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Ruth Loos, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Professor Michael O’Donovan, Cardiff University
  • Dr Michelle Holland, King’s College London
  • Professor Nick Bray, Cardiff University
  • Dr Eilis Hannon, University of Exeter
  • Professor Marcelo Nobrega, University of Chicago
  • Professor Tatjana Sauka-Spengler, University of Oxford
  • Professor Jim Hughes, University of Oxford
  • Professor Stefan Hoppler, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Chris Ponting, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Renée van Amerongen, University of Amsterdam
  • Professor Robert Hill, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Axel Visel, University of California
  • Professor Marc S Halfon, University at Buffalo
  • Dr Emma K Farley, University of California
  • Professor François Spitz, Institut Pasteur
  • Professor Douglas Higgs, University of Oxford
  • Professor Wendy Bickmore, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Chris Murgatroyd, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Dr Kathy Evans, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Gert Jan Veenstra, University of Nijmegen
  • Professor Rebecca Oakey, King’s College London
  • Professor John Quinn, The University of Liverpool