Balancing Genome Fidelity & Plasticity Conference

4 May, 2023 - 7 May, 2023

Hilton Tulum Riviera Maya Carretera Cancun Tulum 307 Tulkal Chemuyil Tulum, 77774, Mexico

Web Address


Deadline: 10/03/2023
Click here to register

Submit your abstract here

General Information

While alterations to DNA underlie genome evolution and antibody diversification, genome instability drives many disorders, including cancer, developmental abnormalities, and neurodegeneration. DNA damage and other genome-threatening replication blocks are generally overcome by a number of DNA repair pathways. The choice of DNA repair pathways, specifically the reliance on error-prone vs. error-free is both intriguing and confounding. Moreover, the deregulation of repair pathway choice can trigger pathological processes. In this conference, we will discuss the delicate equilibrium of genome maintenance pathways, addressing how natural processes such as replication and transcription can threaten genome stability, how the genome can be altered in cancer, signatures of genome instability in human disease, and how cells control the inherent plasticity of their replication and repair machinery. We aim to bring together scientists from diverse fields who are interested in understanding the many processes impacting DNA metabolism and the molecular and biophysical principles that maintain the balance between genome stability and plasticity.


Key Sessions:

  • Genome Signatures and Evolution
  • Tissue Specific Repair and Mutagenesis
  • Transcription-Replication Driven Mutation
  • Mutagenic Repair and Replication

Influences of Subnuclear Organization on Genome Plasticity

Deadline for submissions: Talk submission: 24 November 2022. Poster Submission: 09 March 2023

Meeting organisers:

Chloe Trundle (Conference Manager)

Dipanjan Chowdhury (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute)
Karlene Cimprich (Stanford University)
Agnel Sfeir (MSKCC)


Britt Adamson (Princeton University)

Simon Boulton (Francis Crick Insitute)

Dan Durocher (Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute)

Anja Groth (University of Copenhagen)

Daniel Jarosz (Stanford University)

Scott Keeney (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)

Gaëlle Legube (Centre for Integrative Biology, Toulouse)

Houra Merrikh (Vanderbilt University)

Nima Mosammaparast (Washington University in St. Louis)

Serena Nik-Zainal (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology)

Andre Nussenzweig (NIH)

Julian Sale (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology)

Jesper Svejstrup (University of Copenhagen)

Philippe Pasero (Institute of Human Genetics)

David Pellman (Dana-Farber Cancer Insitute)

Marcel Tijsterman (Leiden University Medical Center)

Maria-Elena Torres-Padilla (Helmholtz Zentrum München)

Stephan Vagner (Institut Curie)

Iestyn Whitehouse (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)

SaraH Zanders (Stowers Institute for Medical Research)