3rd Bacterial Cell Biology Conference

A visual representation of virus cell
26 February, 2020 - 29 February, 2020

Nassau, Bahamas


Click here to register

General Information

This meeting is a continuation of the Zing Conferences Bacterial Cell Biology series. In the last two decades there has been an explosion of interest in fundamental aspects of bacterial structure and function, based on advances in fluorescence and cryo-EM imaging. In the last few years, quantitative and automated methods have brought about radical changes in the breadth and depth of studies, leading to important mechanistic discoveries. Meanwhile, genome sequencing and genetic methods such as CRISPR-Cas9 and Tn-Seq have greatly expanded the range of organisms that can be studied incisively, enabling comparative studies of processes such as growth, morphogenesis and division, across diverse bacterial phyla. The conference will bring together presentations illustrating the application of advanced cell and molecular biology methods to a wide range of basic functions in bacterial cells. Advances in understanding of the fundamentals of bacterial structure and function also create opportunities for the development of novel approaches to kill or modulate the growth and behaviour of bacterial cells.

Specific sessions are likely to cover the following areas.

  • Cell morphogenesis
  • Cell division
  • Chromosome replication and segregation
  • Cell biology of transcription and translation
  • Advances in imaging
  • Diversity in bacterial structure and function
  • Bacterial communities and signalling
  • Bacterial chemical biology


Registration Deadlines:

  • Early Bird – 11 Sep 2019
  • Talk Submission – 18 Sep 2019
  • Poster Submission – 20 Dec 2019
  • Registration Deadline – 20 Dec 2019

Meeting organisers:



Tom Bernhardt (Harvard University)
Melanie Blokesch (EPFL, Lausanne)
Yves Brun (Indiana University)
Cees Dekker (Delft University of Technology)
Ethan Garner (Harvard University)
Stephan Gruber (University of Lausanne)
Grant Jensen (Caltech)
Petra Levin (Washington University in St. Louis)
Jun Liu (Yale School of Medicine)
Joe Lutkenhaus (University of Kansas Medical Center)
Tam Mignot (CNRS, Paris)
Heath Murray (Newcastle University)
Johan Paulsson (Harvard Medical School)
Mariana Pinho (ITQB, Portugal)
Hesper Rego (Yale University)
Lotte Sogaard-Andersen (Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology)
Gürol Suel (UC San Diego)
Waldemar Vollmer (Newcastle University)
Suzanne Walker (Harvard Medical School)
Jie Xiao (Johns Hopkins University)
Liz Sockett (Nottingham University)