Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Mendel Medal

The Mendel Medal is named after Gregor Mendel (1822-84), famous for his experiments on heredity in peas and founder of genetics as a scientific discipline. The Mendel Medal is awarded by the President of the Genetics Society, usually twice within the President's term of office, to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to research in any field of genetics.


Past winners

1958    Professor GW Beadle
1960    Professor CH Waddington, FRS
1962    Professor F Jacob, FRS
1965    Professor W Hayes, FRS
1966    Professor FHC Crick, FRS
1968    Professor M Delbrück
1970    Dr S Brenner, FRS
1972    Professor CD Darlington, FRS
1974    Professor D Lewis, FRS
1977    Professor C Auerbach, FRS
1979    Professor G Pontecorvo, FRS
1981    Sir W.F. Bodmer, FRS
1984    Professor A Robertson, FRS
1985    Professor J Maynard Smith, FRS
1987    Professor Sir AJ Jeffreys, FRS
1989    Professor P Slonimski
1991    Dr I Herskowitz
1992    Professor C Nüsslein-Volhard, FRS
1994    Professor S Benzer, FRS
1997    Dr Elliott Meyerowitz
1998    Professor C Weissman, FRS
1998    Professor Sir DA Hopwood, FRS
1999    Professor E Wieschaus
2000    Dr JD Watson, FRS
2001    Professor LH Hartwell
2002    Professor LL Cavalli-Sforza, FRS
2003    Dr MF Lyon, FRS
2004    Chris Somerville
2006    Professor Sir DJ Weatherall, FRS
2007    Professor H. Robert Horvitz
2008    Professor M Meselson
2009    Professor Wen-Hsiung Li
2010    Professor Susan Lindquist
2012    Professor Eric Lander
2013    Professor Stanislas Leibler

2015    Professor John Doebley
2017    Professor David Baulcombe