Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Genetics Society Medal

The Genetics Society Medal is an award that recognizes outstanding research contributions to genetics. The Medal recipient, who should still be active in research at the time the Medal is awarded, will be elected annually by the Committee on the basis of nominations made by any individual member of the Society. Those making nominations must be members of the Genetics Society, but there is no requirement for the nominee to be a member, nor any restriction on nationality or residence. Neither current members of the Committee nor those who have retired from office in the past four years may be nominated for the award. The recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at a Genetics Society meeting, where the medal will be awarded, in the year following his/her election. 

Please note, nominations for the 2017 Genetics Society Medal are now closed.

Nominations are now being invited for the 2018 Genetics Society Medal. To make a nomination, please confirm that your candidate is willing to be nominated, then forward a two-page CV of the candidate, together with a list of his or her ten most important publications, plus a one-page letter of recommendation outlining why you feel their contributions to the field have been outstanding. These documents must be submitted electronically to the Honorary Secretary of the Genetics Society, Jonathan Pettitt, by Friday 28th April 2017 at: j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk

Please note, the Genetics Society does not accept self-nominations.

Previous winners

2004 Peter Holland
2005 Phil Ingham
2006 Michael Ashburner
2007 Caroline Dean
2008 Prof Nick Hastie
2009 Prof Steven Brown, FMedSci
2010 Laurence Hurst
2011 Prof Jonathan Hodgkin
2012 Dr Stephen West
2013 Prof Robin Allshire
2014 Prof Jonathan Flint
2015 Prof Alan Ashworth
2016 Prof Ottoline Leyser
2017 Dr Marisa Bartolomei