Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Balfour Lecture

The Balfour Lecture, named after the Genetics Society’s first President, is an award to mark the contributions to genetics of an outstanding young investigator. The Balfour Lecturer is elected by the Society’s Committee on the basis of nominations made by any individual member of the Society. The only conditions are that the recipient of the award must normally have less than 10 years’ postdoctoral research experience at the time of nomination, and that any nomination must be made with the consent of the nominee. Those making nominations must be members of the Genetics Society, but there is no requirement for the nominee to be a member, nor is there any restriction on nationality or residence.

Please note, nominations for the 2018 Balfour Lecturer are now closed.

Nominations are now being invited for the 2019 Balfour Lecturer; the Lecture is normally delivered at the Society’s annual spring meeting. Note that there is no restriction on the subject matter of the Balfour Lecture. To make a nomination, please confirm that your candidate is willing to be nominated, then forward a two-page CV of the candidate, together with a list of his or her ten most important publications, plus a one-page letter of recommendation outlining why you feel their contributions to the field have been outstanding. These documents must be submitted electronically to the Honorary Secretary of the Society, Jonathan Pettitt, by Friday 27th April 2018 at j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk.

Please note, the Genetics Society does not accept self-nominations.

Balfour Lecturers

1988 Dr ES Coen 
1989 Dr IJ Jackson 
1990 Dr P Eggleston 
1991 Dr PW Ingham 
1992 Dr WRA Brown 
1993 Dr NH Barton 
1994 Dr JA Todd
1995 Dr RD St Johnston 
1996 Dr RC Allshire 
1997 Dr WA Bickmore 
1998 Dr C Stirling
1999 Dr D Monckton 
2000 Dr D Bradley 
2001 Dr SJ Leevers 
2002 Dr A Eyre-Walker 
2003 Dr F Uhlmann 
2004 Dr G A T McVean
2005 Dr M de Bono
2006 Dr O Voinnet
2007 Dr M Tsiantis
2008 Dr D Presgraves
2009 Dr M Hurles
2010 Dr Andrew P Jackson
2011 Dr M Madan Babu
2012 Dr Ö Carlborg
2013 Dr S Myers
2014 Dr E Murchison
2015 Dr B Lehner
2016 Dr F Jones
2017 Dr A Wood