Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

Sectional Interest Groups

The Genetics Society helps support several sectional interest groups by providing meeting sponsorship. If you are interested in any of these areas, please contact the relevant organiser. Groups who wish to be considered for sectional interest group status should contact the Scientific Meetings Secretary, Dominique Kleyn, in the first instance. (dominique.kleyn@btinternet.com)

Arabidopsis
Organiser: Geraint Parry (geraint@garnetcommunity.org.uk)
Visit the GARNet website here

20th - 21st March 2017: CyVerseUk Workshop, University of York
Further details available here

4th - 6th April 2017: Monogram Annual Meeting: University of Bristol
Further details available here

6th - 7th August 2017: SEB Satellite Meeting: New Breeding Technologies in the Plant Sciences –
Applications and Implications
Gothenberg
Details to follow

11th - 13th December 2017: SEB-GARNet Symposium: From Proteome to Phenotype: role of
post-translational modifications with associated GARNet Workshop on
Plant Proteomics
University of Edinburgh
Details to follow


Archaea group 
Organiser: Thorsten Allers (thorsten.allers@nottingham.ac.uk)
The next meeting of this group will be held on 5-6 January 2017. Please click here to visit the website

British Yeast Group
Organiser: Daniela Delneri (d.delneri@manchester.ac.uk) and Graham Pavitt (graham.pavitt@manchester.ac.uk)

C. elegans
Organiser: Stephen Nurrish (s.nurrish@ucl.ac.uk)

Drosophila
Organiser: David Ish-Horowicz (david.horowicz@cancer.org.uk)
Monthly meetings are organised by:
Joe Bateman (joseph_matthew.bateman@kcl.ac.uk)

E-ACTG (Edinburgh Alliance for Complex Trait Genetics)
Biannual meetings are free to attend and usually held centrally in Edinburgh.
Next meeting: Friday 17th March 2017  Royal Society, George Street, Edinburgh.
Guest Speaker: Elizabeth Thompson, University of Washington.
For further details and to register, please contact Chris Haley (chris.haley@roslin.ed.ac.uk) or Josephine Pemberton (j.pemberton@ed.ac.uk)
Please click here to visit the website and register.

Ecological Genetics Group
Organiser: Paul Ashton (Genetics@BritishEcologicalSociety.org)
Please click here to visit the website and register.

Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
Organiser: Simon Martin (shm45@gen.cam.ac.uk)
Please click here to visit the website. 

Fly South-West
Organiser : (James.Hodge@bristol.ac.uk .uk)
Dates for 2017 meetings: 1 March & 3 May at Bristol University
Please click here for further information.

Genetics Society Pombe Club

Organiser: Jacky Hayles (jacqueline.hayles@cancer.org.uk)

The next meeting will be held on Monday 6th February 2017, from 5-8 pm, at the Francis Crick Research Institute, London. Please note that registration for this meeting will start at 4 pm.

Speakers will cover the following topics: "Rapid asymmetric induction of zygotic transcription prevents gamete re-fusion and ensures genome maintenance in fission yeast"; "Nuclear size control in fission yeast"; "Disrupting nucleotide synthesis targets CDK-induced replication stress following Wee1 inactivation"; "Nutritional control of the cell cycle".

London Fly meetings

Organisers:  Nic Tapon (nic.tapon@crick.ac.uk) and Barry Thompson (barry.thompson@crick.ac.uk)

Meetings take place on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at the Francis Crick Institute, Lincoln's Inn Fields laboratory, London.

Mammalian Genes, Development and Disease
Organisers: Rosalind John (johnrm@Cardiff.ac.uk), David Tosh (d.tosh@bath.ac.uk), David Allard (d.allard@exeter.ac.uk)
The next meeting will be held on 7 July 2017.

Mammalian Genetics and Development
Organisers: Nick Greene, Andrew Copp, Andrew Ward (ich.mgdwshop@ucl.ac.uk);
Click here to visit the website.

Meiosis Group
Organiser: Hiro Ohkura (h.okhura@ed.ac.uk)
The 2016 meeting was in London, 21st & 22nd April.  
For further information, please contact Hiro.

POP group
Organiser: Chris Jiggins (c.jiggins@zoo.cam.ac.uk)
The 50th meeting of the Population Genetics Group will be held in Cambridge on 4-7 January 2017. Click here for more information about this meeting.

The Zebrafish Forum
Organisers:  Rachel Ashworth (r.ashworth@ucl.ac.uk); Caroline Brennan (C.H.Brennan@qmul.ac.uk); Corinne Houart (corinne.houart@kcl.ac.uk)
For information regarding 2016 meetings, please contact one of the organisers above.

Conferences

Other pages in the Conferences section that you may be interested in: