Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Local Representatives

If you want to find out more about the Genetics Society, need someone to nominate you for membership or would like to help organise a local event, please contact your local rep. in the first instance.

The tasks of the Genetics Society Representative are not onerous and include:


- distributing publicity for Genetics Society meetings and other events (eg putting up posters or by word of mouth)

- providing feedback from the membership about Genetics Society activities

- helping organise local events such as socials etc

- assisting the Membership Secretary in keeping an accurate log of which members have moved on and to where

- helping recruit new members

You will receive lots of support from the Genetics Society Head Office as appropriate. If you would like to become a Genetics Society representative please contact the Genetics Society Business Office.

Current Local Representatives:

Professor Anne Donaldson
University of Aberdeen
Aberystwyth Dr Dylan Phillips
Aberystwyth University

Ascot Vacant Silwood Park, Imperial College London

Dr Alexander Papadopulos
University of Bangor
Bath Dr Araxi Urrutia
University of Bath
Belfast Dr Declan McKenna University of Ulster
Birmingham Dr Lindsey Leach
University of Birmingham
Dr Charlotte Rutledge
University of Birmingham

Brighton Dr Felicity Z Watts University of Sussex
Bristol Professor Patricia Kuwabara University of Bristol (SOMs)
Howard Baylis
Zoology Department, University of Cambridge
Philip Wigge
Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge University  
Dr Ben Longdon
Genetics Department, Cambridge University
Cambridge Dr Bénédicte Sanson
Phys, Dev and Neuro Department, Cambridge University
Cambridge Ian Henderson Plant Sci Department, University of Cambridge
Canterbury Dr Simon C Harvey Canterbury Christ Church University  
Cardiff Dr Timothy Bowen University of Wales College of Medicine
Cardiff Dr William Davies Cardiff University
Dublin Oliver Blacque University College Dublin
Dundee Professor Michael JR Stark University of Dundee
Edinburgh Dr Ian Jackson MRC Human Genetics Unit
Edinburgh Dr Douglas Vernimmen
The Roslin Institute
Edinburgh Dr Jarrod Hadfield
Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Edinburgh  
Edinburgh Professor Eileen Wall
SRUC, Edinburgh
Dr Antonio Marco
 University of Essex
Exeter Dr Sarah Flanagan University of Exeter
Glasgow Dr Iain Johnstone University of Glasgow
Glasgow Dr Kevin O'Dell University of Glasgow
Guildford Dr Fiona Green University of Surrey

Dr Paul Potter
MRC Harwell
Vacant Wellcome Genome Campus
Hull Dr Heather M Sealy-Lewis University of Hull
Kent Prof Mick F Tuite University of Kent
Lancashire  Dr Paul Ashton  Edge Hill University   
Leeds Dr Andrew Peel University of Leeds, School of Biology
Leicester Dr Marie Nugent
University of Leicester
Leicester Dr Ed Hollox University of Leicester
Liverpool Dr Tony Plagge
University of Liverpool
Liverpool Dr Peter Glen Walley
University of Liverpool
Liverpool Dr Craig Wilding
Liverpool John Moores
London Dr Claire Russell Royal Veterinary College
London Dr Francesca Mackenzie Kingston University

London Professor Simon Hughes King's College London  
London Professor Harald Schneider The Natural History Museum
London Professor E M C Fisher UCL Institute of Neurology
Professor Andrew Pomiankowski
UCL Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment
London Professor Richard A Nichols Queen Mary and Westfield College
Dr Emanuela Volpi University of Westminster  
London Dr Yalda Jamshidi St George's University of London  
Dr Michalis Barkoulas
Imperial College (Hammersmith)

London Dr James Turner
Francis Crick Institute
Manchester Dr Catherine Walton University of Manchester
Manchester Miss Rebecca Collier
University of Manchester  
Newcastle upon Tyne Dr Kirsten Wolff University of Newcastle (Biol Sci)
Professor Enrico Coen
John Innes Centre

Dr Tracey Chapman
University of East Anglia

Nottingham Dr Richard Emes University of Nottingham (Sutton Bonnington Campus)
Nottingham Professor John Brookfield University of Nottingham (University Park Campus)
Oxford Dr S. L. Kearsey University of Oxford (Zoology)
Oxford Professor Andrew O M Wilkie University of Oxford (John Radcliffe Hosp)
Oxford Professor Liam Dolan University of Oxford (Plant Sciences)
Oxford Dr Paul Potter MRC Harwell
Oxford Professor Jonathan Hodgkin University of Oxford
Dr Ravinder Kanda
Oxford Brookes University
Plymouth Vacant

Plymouth Dr Mairi Knight University of Plymouth
Reading Dr Louise Johnson University of Reading
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Sheffield Dr Jon Slate University of Sheffield
Southampton Dr Mark A. Chapman
University of Southampton
St Andrews Professor Mike Ritchie University of St Andrews
Stirling Dr Mario Vallejo-Marin University of Stirling
Dr Lewis Bingle University of Sunderland   
Swansea Dr George Johnson Swansea University
Warwickshire Dr Jose Gutierrez-Marcos University of Warwick
York Dr Gonzalo Blanco University of York