Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

Committee Members

The role of the Committee is defined in the Genetics Society Constitution. Each member of the Committee is a representative of a major field of genetics

Committee Vacancies 2018

GENETICS SOCIETY COMMITTEE MEMBERS 2017/2018

PRESIDENT

Professor Wendy Bickmore (2018)
MRC Human Genetics Unit
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
Tel: +44 (0)1313 322471 x2304

Email: wendy.bickmore@igmm.ed.ac.uk

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Vice-President, Public Understanding of Genetics

Dr Alison Woollard (2019)                
Biochemistry Department              
University of Oxford
Email: alison.woollard@bioch.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Vice-President, External Relations

Professor Colum Walsh (2020)
School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Ulster
Email: cp.walsh@ulster.ac.uk

 

 

Vice-President, Corporate Affairs
Professor Malcolm Logan (2020)
Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics
King's College London, Guy's Campus
London, SE1 1UL
Tel: +44 (0)207 848 6886
Email: malcolm.logan@kcl.ac.uk

 



HONORARY SECRETARY 

Dr Jonathan Pettitt (2020)
School of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen
Foresterhill
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD
Tel: 01224 437516
Email: j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk

 HONORARY TREASURER

Professor Martin Taylor (2020)
MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC IGMM
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
Tel: +44 (0)131 332 2471 (extension 4043)
Email: martin.taylor@igmm.ed.ac.uk
skype: mst7776


SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS SECRETARY

Dominique Kleyn, Non Executive Director (2018)        
BioIndustry Association
Tel: 07768 344346
Email: 
dominique.kleyn@btinternet.com

  


NEWSLETTER EDITOR

Dr Lynsey Hall (2020)
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Newcastle University
International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE1 3BZ

Tel: +44 (0) 191 241 8692
Email:
Lynsey.Hall@newcastle.ac.uk

WEBSITE EDITOR

  Dr Kay Boulton (2020)
  The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS
  University of Edinburgh
  Easter Bush Midlothian
  EH25 9RG
  Tel: +44 (0) 131 6519213
  Email: kay.boulton@roslin.ed.ac.uk


POSTGRADUATE REPRESENTATIVE

  Helena Wells (2019)
  Department of Twin Research
  Kings College London
  St Thomas’ Hospital Campus, 3rd Floor South Wing Block D
  Westminster Bridge Road
  London, SE1 7EH
  Email: helena.wells@kcl.ac.uk


 

ORDINARY MEMBERS

Area A (Gene structure, function and regulation)

Dr Douglas Vernimmen (2019)                
University of Edinburgh      
Easter Bush Campus          
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0)131 351 9119
Email: douglas.vernimmen@roslin.ed.ac.uk


Dr Aziz Aboobaker (2020)
University of Oxford
Email: aziz.aboobaker@zoo.ox.ac.uk




 

 

Area B (Genomics)

Professor Michael Simpson (2019)
Division of Genetics and Molecular Medicine        
King's College London
Guy's Hospital
London, SE1 9RT
Email: michael.simpson@kcl.ac.uk


  Dr Sudhakaran Prabakaran (2020)
  Department of Genetics
  University of Cambridge
  Downing Street
  Cambridge
  CB2 3EH
  Email: sp339@cam.ac.uk




Area C (Cell and developmental genetics)

  Dr Marika Charalambous (2019)

  William Harvey Research Institute
  Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry
  Queen Mary University of London
  Charterhouse Square
  London, EC1M 6BQ
  Tel: +44 (0)207 8826 292
  Email:
m.charalambous@qmul.ac.uk

  Professor Stefan Hoppler (2020)
  University of Aberdeen
  School of Medical Sciences
  Aberdeen Developmental Biology Group
  Institute of Medical Sciences
  Foresterhill Health Campus
  Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD                                       
  Email: s.p.hoppler@abdn.ac.uk

 

Area D (Applied and quantitative genetics)

 

 Dr Danny Thorogood (2020)
 IBERS
 Gogerddan
 Aberystwyth
 SY23 3EE
 Email: dnt@aber.ac.uk



  Dr Alastair Wilson (2020)
  Centre for Ecology and Conservation

  University of Exeter (Penryn Campus)
  Penryn
  Cornwall
  TR10 9FE
  Email: a.wilson@ex.ac.uk

 

Area E (Evolutionary, ecological and population genetics)

Professor Mark Jobling (2018)                
University of Leicester           
University Road           
Leicester, LE1 7RH
Tel: +44 (0) 1162 523427
Fax: +44 (0) 1162 523378
Email: maj4@le.ac.uk


Dr Frank Hailer (2020)

Cardiff University
Email: hailerf@cardiff.ac.uk


 

Area F (Corporate genetics and biotechnology)

Professor Richard Flavell (2018)                
Ceres Inc
1535 Rancho Conejo Blvd
California, 91362
USA       
Email: rflavell@outlook.com


Dr Jim Huggett (2019)
Molecular Biology
LGC
Teddington, UK
Email: Jim.Huggett@lgcgroup.com 


Note:  Committee members serve from 1 May of the year of their election until 30 April (or after the AGM, whichever is the later) of the year indicated in parentheses after their name.

The President and Honorary Treasurer posts shadow the outgoing postholder for one year prior to taking up the post.

The Postgraduate Representative joins the full Committee meeting in November and shadows the outgoing post for 6 months.



Persons invited to attend Committee meetings as non-voting contributors

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF, HEREDITY


Professor Barbara Mable
Room 404 Graham Kerr Building

Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health and Comparative Medicine

College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences

University of Glasgow

Scotland
 
G12 8QQ
 

 

Tel:+44 (0)141 330 3532
Fax:+44 (0)141 330 5971

Email: barbara.mable@glasgow.ac.uk


The Genetics Society Office

Charles Darwin House
12 Roger Street
London
WC1N 2JU

Tel: +44 (0) 203 793 7850
Email: theteam@genetics.org.uk